Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Sir Charles Mackerras

Dvořák: Symphonic Variations, Scherzo capriccioso, Legends

Catalogue Number: SU 3533-2
Published: 21st January 2002
Genre: Symphony
This album has received following awards:
  • Cannes Classical Award (2003)
The staple repertoire of Czech symphonic music, wherein the work of Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904) has constituted one of the essential parts if not the outright dominant one, simply has to figure in the catalogue of the premier Czech record label not onlyin its completeness, but also in state-of-the-art technological shape. Hence also Supraphon's standing policy of returning in more or less regular cycles to items already featured in its catalogue. Apart from the obvious ambition to obtain flawless soundand technical parametres, it has proved just as vital to keep the high artistic standards set for and by Supraphon recordings. Here, this perennial concern was translated into the engagement for this project none less than foremost expert on Czech music in general and Dvořák's work in particular, pupil of Václav Talich, Australian-born conductor living in Britain, Sir Charles Mackerras (b. 1925). The Czech Philharmonic Orchestra has always felt perfectly at home with Dvořák's symphonic output, interpreting them with true mastery and dedication. The outcome of their work together this time out definitely deserves your full attention.
Antonín Dvořák
1. Symphonic Variations for Large Orchestra, Op. 78 B.70 21:58
Antonín Dvořák
2. Scherzo capriccioso for Large Orchestra, Op. 66, B.131 14:01
Antonín Dvořák
Legends, Op. 59, B.122
3. I.: Allegretto non troppo, quasi andantino 03:23
4. I.: Molto moderato 04:18
5. I.: in G minor (Allegro giusto) 04:06
6. I.: in C major (Molto maestoso) 05:44
7. I.: in A flat major (Allegro giusto) 04:23
8. II.: in C sharp minor (Allegro con moto) 05:11
9. II.: in A major (Allegretto grazioso) 02:47
10. II.: in F major (Un poco allegretto e grazioso) 03:45
11. II.: in D major (Andante con moto) 02:33
12. II.: in B flat minor (Andante) 04:02