Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Václav Talich

Talich Special Edition 16. Benda: Sinfonia in B flat - Dvořák & Suk: Serenades - Tchaikovsky: Andante Cantabile, Song Without Words

Catalogue Number: SU 3836-2
Published: 20th July 2007
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 1 CD
Chamber music played an important role in Talich's life, especially in the early and later parts of his career. One of the most significant episodes of his life was the brief post-war story of the Czech Chamber Orchestra (1946-1948), an ensemble that was faithfully devoted to him during a period of unjust attacks on his character. In addition to the Sinfonia in B flat major by J. A. Benda, one of the leading personalities of early Classicism, and the Andante Cantabile by P. I. Tchaikovsky, this album offers two often-played serenades by Antonín Dvořák and JosefSuk. The Serenade in E flat major was the answer of eighteen years old Suk to Dvořák's advice to "finally stop with that constant minor and write something fresh and youthful". The Serenade in E major, one of Dvořák's most beautiful chamber works, was written in 1874 and was originally intended for the Vienna Philharmonists. In both we hear the genius of the composer blended with Talich's sensitive, inspiring interpretation.
Jiří Antonín Benda
Sinfonia in B flat major
1. Moderato 02:55
2. Allegretto 01:55
3. Allegro vivacissimo 01:14
Antonín Dvořák
String Serenade in E major, Op. 22
4. Moderato 04:16
5. Tempo di Valse 06:42
6. Scherzo. Vivace 05:38
7. Larghetto 04:33
8. Finale. Allegro vivace 06:05
Josef Suk
String Serenade in E flat major, Op. 6
9. Andante con moto 06:11
10. Allegro ma non troppo e grazioso 05:56
11. Adagio 10:17
12. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo presto 07:20
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
String Quartet No. 1 in D major, Op. 11
13. Andante cantabile 07:15
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
14. Song Without Words in F major, Op. 2, No. 3 03:18