Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Vladimír Válek

Smetana: Orchestral Works (My Country, Richard III., Wallenstein's Camp, Hakon Jarl, Triumph Symphony etc.)

Catalogue Number: SU 3916-2
Published: 18th May 2007
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 3 CD
The major orchestral works of Bedřich Smetana are gathered together on 3 CDs for the first time. In addition to My Country, the cornerstone work of Czech national music, and Richard III, Wallenstein's Camp, and Hakon Jarl, the three symphonic poems from Smetana's "Swedish Period," we have an opportunity to hear the lesser-known Triumph Symphony in E major (Smetana's only work in this genre) as well as a selection of popular pieces including the Ceremonial Prelude in C major, which was played on the day that the cornerstone of the National Theater was laid (May 16, 1868). The style of Smetana's symphonic works made a fundamental contribution to the identity of Czech national music, and the PRSO and its principal conductor Vladimír Válek are experienced and respected performers of the Czech symphonic literature.

CD 1

Bedřich Smetana
My Country. A Cycle of Symphonic Poems
1. Vyšehrad (Lento. Largo maestoso - Grandioso - Allegro vivo ma non agitato - Lento ma non troppo - Largamente) 15:19
2. Vltava (Moldau) (Allegro comodo, non agitato) 11:51
3. Šárka (Allegro con fuoco, ma non agitato - Piu moderato assai - Moderato ma con calore - Adagio. Moderato - Molto vivo) 10:04
4. From Bohemian fields and groves (Molto moderato - Allegro poco vivo, ma non troppo - Presto) 12:46
5. Tábor (Lento - Molto vivace - Lento maestoso) 12:31
6. Blaník (Allegro moderato - Andante non troppo - Piu allegro, ma non molto - Tempo di marcia - Largamente maestoso - Piu vivo) 14:43

CD 2

Bedřich Smetana
1. Richard III. Symphonic Poem, Op. 11 12:43
Bedřich Smetana
2. Wallenstein's Camp. Symphonic Poem, Op. 14 15:09
Bedřich Smetana
3. Hakon Jarl. Symphonic Poem, Op. 16 16:28
Bedřich Smetana
4. Dahlia polka 03:04
Bedřich Smetana
5. Louisen-Polka 02:19

CD 3

Bedřich Smetana
Triumphal (Festive) Symphony
1. Allegro vivace 08:51
2. Largo maestoso 08:09
3. Scherzo. Allegro vivo 09:47
4. Finale. Allegro non troppo ma energico 10:23
Bedřich Smetana
5. Solemn March for Shakespeare Celebrations 06:18
Bedřich Smetana
6. Ceremonial Prelude in C major 03:58
Bedřich Smetana
7. To Our Maidens / Our Lassies. Polka 04:16