Collegium Musicum Pragensae, Prague Symphony Orchestra, František Vajnar

Družecký, Vent & Vranický: Hunting Music of Old Czech Masters

Catalogue Number: SU 4228-2
Published: 16th February 2018
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 CD
Hunting music of old Czech masters
Jiří Družecký (1745-1819) - Partita Berdlersgarn, Jan Nepomuk Vent (1745-1801) - Partita in Dis, Pavel Vranický (1756-1808) - Sinfonia in D, "La Chasse", Op. 25

Collegium Musicum Pragensae, Prague Symphony Orchestra, conducted by František Vajnar

Hunting cannot be thought about in isolation from the sounds accompanying it - the barking of dogs, the shrieks of frightened quarry, the shots, and the sound of horns and trumpets. Signal instruments and the atmosphere of chase gave rise to the special genre of "hunting music". The quintessential hunting-related instrument is the French horn, which became widely used in Bohemia after 1760, owing to Count Franz Anton von Sporck. Yet hunting music, for a variety of ensembles (including the wind Harmonie), was also played at feasts and other social events. Hunting-themed pieces - cassations, serenades, partitas (many of them termed caccia or la chasse) - indicated their connection with hunting by the selection of instruments, the typical harmonies and melodies, as well as by featuring onomatopoeic effects, such as the sounds of animals and birds, and sonic renditions of buoyant merry-making in the wake of the hunting expedition. The music featured on the present CD was written by three Czech representatives of high Classicism. Jiří Družecký and Jan Nepomuk Vent composed numerous popular pieces for wind instruments. Pavel Vranický, a friend of Haydn and Beethoven, who both chose him to conduct their works, was a distinguished theatre figure in Vienna. Let yourself be immersed in the captivating hunting atmosphere and the subsequent feast.

Deep forests, the sound of bugles and game - an invitation to a hunt from the Czech classical masters.


“It is quite an achievement to assemble a CD containing music by three virtually unheard-of composers, yet utilising analogue tapes that must have been languishing in the Supraphon archive since they were made almost half a century ago. This disc also serves to remind us that recording skill has progressed virtually not at all since then, for these are lovely sounding performances with a degree of clarity that matches anything done in the current ‚digital‘ era. The final reminder is that Czech ensembles have always been superb players. Even if the music is less than top-class, the playing is most certainly such.”
MusicWeb International, May 2018

Jiří Družecký
Partita Berdlersgarn
1. Allegro 05:14
2. Menuetto 04:12
3. Allegro con variazioni 03:05
Jan Nepomuk Vent
Partita in Dis
4. Presto 02:47
5. Favoritto - Alternativo 02:27
6. Menuetto 03:22
7. Romance 04:57
8. Finale. Presto 02:58
Pavel Vranický
Sinfonia in D, Op. 25
9. Allegro maestoso 09:12
10. Menuetto 04:41
11. Adagio 06:51
12. La Caccia 07:09