Jean Pierre Rampal

Jean-Pierre Rampal in Prague / The Complete Supraphon Recordings

Catalogue Number: SU 4217-2
Published: 24th March 2017
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 2 CD
Jean-Pierre Rampal - transverse flute, Czech Philharmonic / Václav Jiráček, Prague Chamber Orchestra / Milan Munclinger, Václav Neumann, Martin Turnovský. Alfréd Holeček - piano, Viktorie Švihlíková - harpsichord

Prague was among the world's cities that Jean-Pierre Rampal (1922-2000) fell in love with at first sight. During his very first trip across the Iron Curtain, the French flautist made friends with Milan Munclinger, an outstanding Czech musician, with whom he shared a passion for Baroque music. Owing to Munclinger's initiative, on 31 May 1955 Rampal performed alongside the pianist Alfred Holeček before the packed auditorium within the Prague Spring festival. (A mere four days previously, Mstislav Rostropovich had played the complete Bach cello suites at the festival.) The very next day, Rampal made the first in his series of recordings for Supraphon, which featured Prokofiev's Sonata. Until 1956, he made premiere recordings of sonatas by František Benda and F. X. Richter, concertos by Carl Stamitz and F. A. Rosetti, as well as, and most significantly - with the Prague Chamber Orchestra conducted by Munclinger - concertos by Richter and Benda. The latter two were extraordinary indeed, as evidenced by the international critical acclaim: the album went on to receive the prestigious Grand Prix du Disque de l'Académie Charles Cros. Rampal's final Supraphon album, made with the Czech Philharmonic in April 1958, contains the flute concerto by the then 33-year-old Jindřich Feld, who primarily gained global recognition thanks to Rampal. The phenomenal French flautist would continue to come to Prague in the following years to give concerts and to meet his close friends among Czech musicians.

Golden memories of Jean-Pierre Rampal's time in Prague - legendary recordings, newly digitally remastered.


“Given that the Richter Concerto and Sonata are making their first CD appearance, Rampal’s admirers should on no account overlook that fact and the other many excellences on offer here.”
MusicWeb International, July 2017

CD 1

Jindřich Feld
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra
1. Allegro appassionato 11:17
2. Largo 09:25
3. Allegro vivace 11:03
Sergei Prokofiev
Sonata for Flute and Piano in D major, Op. 94
4. Moderato 07:58
5. Scherzo. Presto 04:43
6. Andante 03:44
7. Allegro con brio 06:33
František Benda
Sonata per flauto e continuo /Sonata for Flute and Harpsichord in F major/
8. Adagio 03:36
9. Allegro 02:19
10. Vivace 02:52
Franz Xaver Richter
Sonata Da Camera III. a flauto traverso e cemballo obligato
11. Andante affettuoso 05:17
12. Larghetto 06:09
13. Fugato 04:40

CD 2

Franz Xaver Richter
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in D major
1. Allegro ma non troppo 08:42
2. Larghetto con poco adagio 09:25
3. Allegro 05:44
František Benda
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in E minor
4. Allegro con brio 09:09
5. Adagio un poco andante 07:55
6. Presto 05:34
František Antonín Rössler-Rosetti
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in D major
7. Allegro maestoso 07:47
8. Adagio 06:42
9. Rondo. Allegro 03:00
Carl Philipp Stamitz
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in G major, Op. 29
10. Allegro 08:33
11. Andante non troppo moderato 05:01
12. Rondo. Allegro 05:00