Prague Chamber Orchestra

Dvořák: Serenade for Strings, Czech Suite

Catalogue Number: SU 3563-2
Published: 30th April 2001
Genre: Orchestral
Reaching music buffs here under a new cover is arguably the most charming part of the symphonic legacy of Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904). Both the Serenade for Strings - which incidentally came to serve, seventeen years later, as the immediate source of inspiration for Suk's famed Serenade (in a key lower by half-tone) - and Czech Suite, with the glorious final Furiant, represent textbook examples of Dvořák's incredible, even prodigal melodic gift. From the very moment of the two works' emergence, each of their many themes clearly aspired to immortality. Accordingly, the Serenade and the Czech Suite have become standard export articles delivered by all Czech chamber orchestras. This particular serving of the timeless delicacies is crowned by the glossy technique and luscious sound characterizing the performance of the Prague Chamber Orchestra.
Antonín Dvořák
Serenade for String Orchestra in E major, Op. 22
1. Moderato 04:15
2. Tempo di Valse 07:10
3. Scherzo. Vivace 05:56
4. Larghetto 05:41
5. Finale. Allegro vivace 06:03
Antonín Dvořák
Czech suite in D major, Op. 39
6. Preludium (Pastorale). Allegro moderato 03:51
7. Polka. Allegretto grazioso. Trio. Poco piu mosso 05:16
8. Sousedská (Minuetto). Allegro giusto 04:42
9. Romanza. Andante con moto 04:45
10. Finale (Furiant). Presto 05:35