Josef Suk

Early Recordings

Catalogue Number: SU 4075-2
Published: 4th November 2011
Genre: Orchestral
Format: 6 CD
Dvořák* - Romantic Pieces, Sonatina, Sonata. Suk - Four Pieces, Op. 17*. Smetana - From the Homeland. Martinů - Duos for Violin and Cello Nos. 1 and 2*. Sonatas for Violin and Piano (Janáček, Ježek, Brahms*, Grieg*, Respighi*, Debussy, Poulenc, Franck). Schubert - Sonatina, Op. 137, Duo, Op. 162. Mozart - Duo for Violin and Viola, K 424. Honegger - Sonatina for Violin and Cello*. Kodály - Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7*

Josef Suk - violin, Alfréd Holeček, Jan Panenka, Josef Hála - piano, Milan Škampa - viola, André Navarra - cello

On the morning on 7 July 2011 the agencies brought the sad news that one of the legends of 20th-century music had passed away. Josef Suk ranks among the most accomplished violinists of the epoch. When he launched his artistic career, he was gifted with unquestionable talent but also felt the obligation to meet the enormous general expectations (he was, after all, the grandson of the composer Josef Suk and great grandson of the maestro Antonín Dvořák!). Back in the mid-1950s he won international recognition - and began recording too. The presented recordings, most of them on CD for the very first time, date from 1956-1967 and introduce Josef Suk as a mature artist with a distinct interpretational approach and a beautiful, characteristic tone. Within a shorttime, he recorded, primarily with pianists (Holeček, Panenka, Hála), a remarkably extensive repertoire, ranging from pieces by his beloved Dvořák and Suk (to whom he would repeatedly return) to sonatas by Debussy and Janáček (for which he received a Grand Prix du Disque de l'Académie Charles Cros), as well as duos by Kodály and Honegger with the cellist André Navarra. These carefully remastered recordings serve as a historical document and, above all, bear witness to the art of a superlative young musician whose name would later on be spoken of in the same breath as other legends.

Josef Suk's early recordings - previously unreleased and bearing witness to the legendary 20th-century violinist's mastery!


“L’archet diseur, les timbres cirés, l’air entre les cordes, et dans la rigueur du beau jeu d’une haute école où les souvenirs de Váša Příhoda et de Jan Kubelík paraissent, cette nostalgie immanente partout, ici dans une Sonate de Debussy où le violon est comme tenu par Pan, là dans ce chef-d’œuvre que sont les Quatre Pièces de Josef Suk ou dans la ballade métaphysique, quasi faustienne, de la Sonate de Janáček, mais allez d’abord au chant sensuel du Rondo de Schubert (avec Panenka, le classicisme et l’intensité de ce piano!), au Duo de Mozart avec l’alto de Škampa et aux Sonates de Brahms, où son art parfait et si vivant irradie: ce son est d’une présence, d’une beauté!”
Artalinna, July 2020

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Romantic Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op.75 (B. 150)
1. Allegro moderato 03:07
2. Allegro maestoso 02:45
3. Allegro appassionato 02:17
4. Larghetto 07:12
Antonín Dvořák
Sonatina for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 100 (B. 183)
5. Allegro risoluto 05:53
6. Larghetto 05:06
7. Scherzo. Molto vivace 02:32
8. Finale. Allegro 06:21
Antonín Dvořák
Sonata for Violin and Piano in F major, Op. 57 (B. 106)
9. Allegro ma non troppo 11:09
10. Poco sostenuto 07:53
11. Allegro molto 05:18
Josef Suk
Four Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 17
12. Quasi balatta 06:21
13. Appassionato 03:45
14. Un poco triste 04:05
15. Burlesque 02:51

CD 2

Leoš Janáček
Sonata for Violin and Piano
1. Con moto 04:18
2. Ballade. Con moto 04:44
3. Allegretto 02:26
4. Adagio. Un poco piu mosso 04:26
Bedřich Smetana
From the Homeland. Two Pieces for Violin and Piano
5. Moderato 05:26
6. Andantino. Moderato. Allegro vivo. Moderato asssai. Presto 07:23
Jaroslav Ježek
Sonata for Violin and Piano (1933)
7. Allegro vivo /Allegretto/ 04:32
8. Lento 05:05
9. Largo 03:48
10. Allegro 06:57
Bohuslav Martinů
Duo for Violin and Cello No. 1, H. 157
11. Preludium. Andante moderato 04:01
12. Rondo. Allegro con brio 07:46
Bohuslav Martinů
Duo for Cello and Violin No. 2, H. 371
13. Allegretto 03:06
14. Adagio 06:06
15. Poco allegro 03:30

CD 3

Edvard Hagerup Grieg
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45
1. Allegro molto ed appassionato 09:42
2. Allegretto espressivo alle Romanza 07:12
3. Allegro animato 07:38
Robert Schumann
4. Evening Song for Violin and Piano, Op. 85, No. 12 02:58
Ottorino Respighi
Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor (1917)
5. Moderato 08:27
6. Andante espressivo 08:14
7. Passacaglia. Allegro moderato, ma energico 06:49
Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 in G major, Op. 78
8. Vivace ma non troppo 09:37
9. Adagio 07:51
10. Allegro molto moderato 07:01
Johannes Brahms
Valse for Violin and Piano in A major, Op. 39 No. 15
11. Valse in A major 02:11

CD 4

Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 2 in A major, Op. 100
1. Allegro amabile 08:29
2. Andante tranquillo. Vivace 06:04
3. Allegretto grazioso (Quasi andante) 05:32
Johannes Brahms
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108
4. Allegro 07:11
5. Adagio 05:04
6. Un poco presto e con sentimento 02:51
7. Presto agitato 05:35
Franz Schubert
Sonatina for Violin and Piano in D major, Op. 137 No. 1
8. Allegro molto 04:07
9. Andante 04:16
10. Allegro vivace 03:54
Franz Schubert
Duo for Violin and Piano in A major, Op. 162
11. Allegro moderato 06:11
12. Scherzo. Presto 03:41
13. Andantino 04:25
14. Allegro vivace 04:41

CD 5

Claude Debussy
Sonata for Violin and Piano
1. Allegro vivo 04:39
2. Intermede. Fantasque et léger 04:18
3. Finale. Tres animé 04:01
Claude Debussy
4. Clair de lune for Violin and Piano 04:18
Claude Debussy
5. La plus que lente. Waltz for Violin and Piano 04:15
Francis Poulenc
Sonata for Violin and Piano
6. Allegro con fuoco 06:38
7. Intermezzo. Tr`es lent et calme 06:19
8. Presto tragico 05:26
César Franck
Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major
9. Allegretto ben moderato 06:25
10. Allegro 08:12
11. Recitativo - Fantasia 07:49
12. Allegretto poco mosso 06:27

CD 6

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Duo for Violin and Viola in B flat major, K. 424
1. Adagio. Allegro 06:48
2. Andante cantabile 03:47
3. Thema con variazioni 08:38
Arthur Honegger
Sonatina for Violin and Cello
4. Allegro 04:48
5. Andante - Doppio movimento - Tempo I. 06:01
6. Allegro 04:26
Zoltán Kodály
Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7
7. Allegro serioso, non troppo 09:04
8. Adagio 08:53
9. Maestoso e largamente, ma non troppo lento. Presto 08:00