Suk Trio

Dvořák: Piano Trios

Catalogue Number: SU 3545-2
Published: 19th March 2001
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 2 CD
One of the best-loved combinations for home music-making and the concert platform alike during the lifetime of Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904), the piano trio has retained its popularity to this day. No wonder then if Supraphon's ARCHIVE series has now turned to none other than Dvořák who tried his luck in this format with remarkable success. His four compositions for the combinationof piano, violin and cello, are all masterpieces which have remained stable parts of the concert repertoire. Moreover, the second pair of the four works (Trio in F minor; Dumka) have held aparticularly privileged "superstar" status in the international chamber music literature.
The interpreters here are the Suk Trio, formed in 1951 at the behest of then student of Prague's Academy of Music, the violinist Josef Suk (b. 1929), grandson of the composer of the same name and great-grandson of Antonín Dvořák. The ensemble's triumphant artistic trajectory spanned nearly four decades, filled with appearances on Czech and international concert platforms, making its most valuable recordings with the membership of Josef Suk, Jan Panenka (1922 - 1999) and Josef Chuchro (b. 1931).

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in B flat major, Op. 21
1. Allegro molto 14:17
2. Adagio molto e mesto 09:00
3. Allegretto scherzando 07:02
4. Finale. Allegro vivace 06:39
Antonín Dvořák
Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello in G minor, Op. 26, B 56
5. Allegro moderato 12:43
6. Largo 06:21
7. Scherzo. Presto 06:21
8. Finale. Allegro non tanto 06:31

CD 2

Antonín Dvořák
Trio for Piano, Violin and cello No. 3 in F minor, Op. 65
1. Allegro ma non troppo 13:13
2. Allegretto grazioso 06:50
3. Poco adagio 09:53
4. Finale. Allegro con brio 10:19
Antonín Dvořák
Dumky. Piano trio, Op. 90
5. Lento maestoso (in E minor) 04:05
6. Poco adagio (in C sharp minor) 07:02
7. Andante (in A major) 06:10
8. Andante moderato (in Dminor) 04:39
9. Allegro (in E flat major) 04:18
10. Lento maestoso (in C minor) 04:46