Smetana Quartet

Smetana Quartet plays Smetana

Select preferred shop

Catalogue Number: SU 7004-2
Published: 27th January 2003
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 1 DVD
Under the above eloquent title we are now releasing the second in a series of DVDs devoted to the legendary Smetana Quartet. This particular DVD features a short documentary entitled The Smetana, plus recordings of both of Bedřich Smetana's String Quartets: No. 1 in E minor, "From My Life", and No. 2 in D minor; coupled with Dvořák's Sextet in A major, Op. 48; and the programme is rounded off by a visual sequence called The Smetana Quartet: Chronology and Pictures. For its part, "The Smetana" documentary is divided into several parts: Prologue; Genesis; Ripening; "We Have Wandered In Foreign Lands..."; Epilogue; and a pictorial summary devoted to the ensemble's individual members: Jiří Novák (leader), Lubomír Kostecký (2nd violin), Milan Škampa (viola) and Antonín Kohout (cello). The DVD is subtitled in English and Japanese.
Slogan: The Smetana: A legend of the world art of the quartet.