Panocha Quartet

Dvořák: The Essential String Quartets

Catalogue Number: SU 4048-2
Published: 4th March 2011
Genre: Chamber Music
Format: 3 CD
Antonín Dvořák - String Quartet No. 10 in E flat major, Op. 51, "Slavonic"; No. 11 in C major, Op. 61: No. 12 in F major, Op. 96, "American"; No. 13 in G major, Op. 106; No. 14 in A flat major, Op. 105; "Cypresses"

Panocha Quartet

Every work of art is exposed to the inexorable test of time. In the case of the majority of composers, precious few works enjoy enduring popularity. Yet in this respect Dvořák is one of the glorious exceptions. When it comes to his 15 string quartets alone, more than one third of them are still an integral part of the repertoire of numerous contemporary ensembles. All the mature opuses - starting with the "Slavonic" Quartet in E flat major (written for the famous Florentine Quartet) through the most celebrated, the "American", to the final opuses 106 and 105, whose musical language reflects the composer's return home from overseas - have been repeatedly explored and performed. The Panocha Quartet, whose exceptional qualities have for overfour decades been acclaimed by audiences in four continents, have devoted to Czech quartet creation and Dvořák in particular with great care. This selection from the complete Dvořák works features the most beautiful quartet opuses and is a must-have for all fans of this genre.

The "American" quartet and other Dvořák gems - beautiful and seminal


“The Panocha Quartet's complete Dvorák cycle remains the finest yet produced, and a testament to the great Czech tradition of quartet playing. This three-disc set drawn from the larger box, billed as „the essential string quartets,“ does exactly what it…”, June 2018

CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 10 in E flat major, Slavonic, Op. 51 (B.92)
1. Allegro, ma non troppo 10:46
2. Elegia. Andante con moto 07:23
3. Romanza. Andante con moto 06:15
4. Finale. Allegro assai 07:11
Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 11 in C major, Op. 61 (B.121)
5. Allegro 13:52
6. Poco adagio e molto cantabile 07:27
7. Scherzo. Allegro vivo 08:28
8. Finale. Vivace 07:21

CD 2

Antonín Dvořák
Cypresses for Two Violins, Viola and Cello, sine Op. (B.152)
1. I know that on my love to thee (Moderato) 04:23
2. Death reigns in many a human breast (Allegro, ma non troppo) 02:26
3. When thy sweet glances on me fall (Andante con moto) 02:46
4. Never will love lead us to that glad goal (Poco adagio) 04:32
5. The old letter in my book (Andante) 03:12
6. You are my glorious rose (Andante moderato) 02:36
7. I wander oft past yonder house (Andante con moto) 02:26
8. In deepest forest glade I stand (Lento) 03:14
9. Thou only dear one, but for thee (Moderato) 02:51
10. There stands an ancient crag (Andante maestoso) 02:24
11. Nature lies peaceful in slumber and dreaming (Allegro scherzando) 02:35
12. You ask why my songs are racing (Allegro animato) 03:08
Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 12 in F major American, Op. 96 (B.179)
13. Allegro ma non troppo 09:02
14. Lento 08:21
15. Molto vivace 03:55
16. Finale. Vivace ma non troppo 05:08

CD 3

Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 13 in G major, Op. 106 (B.192)
1. Allegro moderato 09:21
2. Adagio ma non troppo 10:50
3. Molto vivace 07:10
4. Andante sostenuto - Allegro con fuoco 11:03
Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 14 in A flat major, Op. 105 (B. 193)
5. Adagio ma non troppo - Allegro appassionato 08:01
6. Molto vivace 06:33
7. Lento e molto cantabile 08:10
8. Allegro non tanto 09:52